Long ago, as 2008 was turning to 2009, I wrote a piece on the color rose for a group at Gather.com called Rainbow Connections.

IMG_8828IMG_8691EntrywayIMG_9272

The group was born out of my love for rainbows and each week, I explored the nuances and associations  of a different color. I didn’t know Wild Rose of Scotland back then, but recently, as I reread what I’d written about the Rose, I felt like I was getting to know Rose – the color, the character, and the flower – in a whole new light.

Wild Rose promo

If you’re as intrigued by Rose as I am, you can see more of her in Wild Rose, the first of my Wildflowers of Scotland novels.

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000035_00023]

Rose… a name, a flower, a color, or none of the above.

Wild Rose - tag line

Rose means different things to different people.

DR Wine

Grandma’s fluffy slippers… Pretty, little cookies…

Food - cookies

Cheeks pink fresh from the cold…

Victoria Gloria

Parades and petals… A bride’s bouquet… A hat, a favorite bathrobe… A silky comforter… Rose fills us with an effervescent glow…

Rose - houses

Rose gives us a sense of well-being…

Rose - needlepoint

Maybe we are looking at the world through rose-colored glasses…

Cal - Rachel SS

Maybe we just like the color rose.

Photo 39

Whatever the reason, whatever the season…

Rose - ornanment

Rose makes us feel better…

Zion - Hollyhocks

It cheers us up, gives us a sense of direction…

Coleus 2

It fills us with radiance…

Rose - stained glass

Rose comforts us.

Rose - rose

Rose makes us whole again… ..

Photo50

Whether “Lo, How a Rose E’er Blooming”…

Rose - nativity

Or, a Rose by any other name…

Rose - vase

What does Rose mean to you?

IMG_8704

Here’s to a Wild Rose… available now through Second Wind Publishing.

Rose - curtains

